Philippe Couve Ltd Reviews

I started the company in 2002 and in the beginning I worked mainly in Brixham and after more than 13 years of recommendations...

Contact Information

Philippe Couve Ltd Reviews

5.0 overall (out of 41 reviews)

Replacement Gas Boiler posted 30/03/2019

Philippe had done some work for me before and I was very impressed with his work, so when my old gas boiler went faulty I decided to get it replaced and had no hesitation in calling Philippe. Philippe came to look at the work and we discussed my requirements. I was happy to go with the Vaillant boiler and the controls that were recommended. All the boiler work was completed as planned and the operation of the controls exlained. I am very happy with the completed job which was left clean and tidy. I have asked Philippe to give the boiler its annual service when it’s due. Philippe takes great pride in his work and he is a real craftsman producing high quality work to a detailed level. Philippe completed all the necessary paperwork, building control, gas safe certificate and product warranties which came through promptly after the work was completed. Philippe is reliable, punctual and a very clean and tidy worker. I have no hesitation in recommending him to anyone who wants good quality work done by a reliable craftsman.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Brilliant (again!) posted 25/03/2019

We discovered a leak under our kitchen sink. Having used Philippe before (tiling, new shower cabinet and tray, boiler repairs), we rang him and he attended promptly. He fitted new parts thus eliminating the leak. As before he was thorough, efficient and tidied up after. He’s also a real gentleman. We’d have no hesitation in recommending Philippe and his work to anyone looking to get a good job done.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Thorough and reliable tradesperson posted 14/12/2018

Philippe came to us to service our boiler following a recommendation from a friend. He immediately struck us as very friendly and above all, clean and tidy. He was prompt and did the job proficiently. We needed a new part which was arranged for fitting on the Wednesday and he even managed to get to us the day before! Couldn't recommend him more highly and will definitely be using him again. Thank you Philippe!

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

New boiler installation posted 11/12/2018

Philippe fitted a new boiler for us. The service is excellent and we’re very happy with our new boiler. We have used Philippe on several occasions and have been delighted with each experience. We would highly recommend Philippe.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Excellent! posted 09/12/2018

We were new to the area and needed a plumber. Philippe was recommended by the estate agent whom we bought the house through. We needed some tiling renewed in the shower (due to failed grouting) along with a new shower tray and cabinet, and a new tap for the bathroom sink. Philippe came to quote and we were immediately impressed with his professionalism. He talked us through everything that he thought needed doing and quoted accordingly. He has carried out the work to an excellent standard (he is very particular) and repaired the boiler which also required attention. He turns up when he says he will and keeps you informed with what’s going on. We’ll definitely use him again (we’ve already asked him to service the boiler next year) and would recommend him to anyone looking for a reliable tradesperson.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 4

Thank you Philippe! posted 08/12/2018

Philippe is professional, experienced, reliable and trustworthy. He arrived on time, checked the work that needed doing and sent me a clear quote to install a new boiler. He was available to start the work the following week. There have been a number of problems with the installation, none I hasten to add due to Philippe. A timer that doesn't work, a pump that broke, valves in the wrong place. Philippe has said that the job was the most challenging he had had in 15 years of installing boilers. He maintained his humour throughout, although I do remember a few outbursts whilst working under the boiler. Cries of 'sugar' with a french accent were delightful, as he tried to get the pump out. Philippe had to rearrange his appointments to try and get the work completed. He has maintained committed throughout to getting the best job done.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Excellent tradesman posted 03/10/2018

Philippe is not cheap, but he did an excellent job - he was quick, tidy, timely, professional and fixed everything that needed fixing. A reliable and knowledgeable plumber, I will certainly use him again and can highly recommend him.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 4

Prompt, reliable and pleasant professional. posted 30/09/2018

Philippe fixed our hot water cylinder and switched the old timer for a modern digital control panel; he also replaced our old Consumer Unit and fitted three German electric radiators in our 1980s bungalow which we are modernising. Highly knowledgeable and very well organised, we welcomed and trusted Philippe's recommendations. We were happy for Philippe to have a key to our home and he was most respectful to our house and lifestyle. Tidied up carefully afterwards. Always clear about work needing to be done. Managed our expectations from start to finish of job - worth every penny! We will be inviting Philippe to work with us again.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Excellent Job posted 21/06/2018

Philippe recently replaced our boiler in a new location. This was by no means an easy task but Philippe did an outstanding job. We found him to be professional, trustworthy and a very friendly. What more could we ask for. Thank you Philippe!

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Totally professional. posted 03/04/2018

We love our new bathroom. Careful planning and thoughtfulness to meet special needs. Highest standard of workmanship. We highly recommend Philippe and - bonus - he cleaned up after every part of the job!

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Excellent as always, recommended to all!! posted 26/02/2018

We have known phillipe now for a few years, and he is always reliable, trustworthy, and his work is always high standard. never leaves a mess, and is a very pleasant man to chat to while he works in your home. Thanks phillipe, All the best with your forthcoming new arrival, becoming a grandparent !! Congratulations to you and your family wish you all the best See you again. Lynne and nigel

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

VERY GOOD WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE posted 19/02/2018

We were very pleased with the changing of our boiler , it wasn't an easy job but Phillippe did a great job with very little disdurbance on our day to day life

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Outstanding service, definitely recommend him. posted 18/02/2018

Philippe gave clear and sensible advice. He arranged to replace the fires very quickly. Arrived promptly, was neat and tidy. He left no mess and the job was done exactly the way we wanted it.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Great job posted 28/10/2017

I have known Philippe for many years now. He recently up dated my Mum's shower room. As always he worked with me to sort out what we could do in the space and what was needed to purchase. He is an excellent workman and always keeps you up to date if there are any niggles. I feel you never know when he has been working in your home as it is always left spotless. I have had Philippe do many jobs for me from fitting a new combi boiler to mending a leaking bath plug. No matter what he does big or small it is always completed professionally and on time. He is trustworthy and polite. Thanks Philippe for another great job.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Professional posted 18/10/2017

Once again excellent service from Philippe. Boiler died on Monday morning. Philippe was round to see it that afternoon. Replacement fitted on Wednesday morning. All done with the minimum of fuss. A clean job with a smile and excellent service. Smooth service. Where an explanation is need he cuts through the jargon and explains things simply and honestly. A friendly smile and a job well done. Who could ask for more.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Excellent, keeps in touch, does what he says he'll do, top quality finish posted 25/08/2017

Philippe is a pleasure to deal with, he keeps you in the picture all of the time, he is reliable, trustworthy, and friendly, and the quality of his workmanship is first rate. Wouldn't hesitate to use him again and recommend him to others.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Very good job well done. posted 17/07/2017

Turned up on time. Polite and friendly, good workmanship throughout.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Fantastic new bathroom with very high standard of workmanship posted 13/05/2017

From start to finish Philippe was very professional in his approach. He took time to understand our requirements and made sure we were happy with his suggestions when he redesigned the bathroom for us. Philippe was friendly but also very sensitive to the fact he was working in someone else's home and worked tidily and to a very high standard at all times. His attention to detail was immaculate. When Philippe took out the old bathroom, he found a lot of water damage in the floor and joists, which needed addressing before he would countenance putting in the bathroom. We were amazed at how far his skills reached. We now know we have solid foundations and a fit for purpose floor and thank Philippe for this extra piece of work. Philippe took down all the old tiles, covered the walls with waterproof plasterboard, fit the new bathroom suite with over the bath shower, boxed in the new shower fitment to hide all the pipework and make the bath fit the space better, completely retiled the whole bathroom and laid a new floor covering. We are so pleased with the care, precision and craftsmanship that Philippe's work demonstrates and are thoroughly pleased with our new bathroom.

5/5

Time Management: 4

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

A professional job delivered on schedule. posted 20/03/2017

Philippe works in a clean and professional way. He has good knowledge and takes care to do an excellent job. His time management is good so you can plan your schedule in advance and trust he will do what he says when he says.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 4

Efficient and friendly as always. posted 19/03/2017

We recently had our boiler replaced. Mr Couve was reliable, efficient and respectful of our property. He has completed several jobs for us over the last few years and has proved to be trustworthy, highly competent and always arrives on time! We have no problem with leaving him keys to the property, he has always taken utmost care in his work. We would recommend him for large or small jobs - he recently returned to change a thermostat which was completed with the same care as the full boiler replacement.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Efficient and very proffesional installation. posted 18/02/2017

Phillipe was very punctual, polite and very proffesional. We had a total conversion from an all electric apartment to gas central heating with hot water. The workmanship is first rate, very neat and tidy with the added bonus at the completion of works of ..... NO MESS at all !!! .. Absolutely no hesitation in reccomending Phillipe.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Efficient, punctual and professional posted 02/12/2016

Philippe was very knowledgeable on Mira showers. He did research for the replacement parts very quickly. He is a most friendly, reassuring and tidy in his work. We would have no hesitation in recommending him. It is most useful that he is an electrician as well.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

competent, friendly, good vlue posted 19/09/2016

understandably in much demand but has always tried to fit our time table

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Excellent standard of work, professional attitude and inspires confidence. posted 17/08/2016

We found Philippe to be hard-working, conscientious and expert in the plumbing, heating and electrical work for which he was contracted. He gave sound guidance and we felt we could trust his judgement. Everything was left neat and tidy at the end of each day and his work was finished to excellent standards. I would have no hesitation in recommending him further.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Total satisfaction posted 01/07/2016

Philippe Couve installed a vaillant gas boiler and flue through a pitched roof.All aspects of the work were carried out in a competent way.Philippe is punctual a clean worker and polite,the price charged for the work was good.I recommend this tradesman.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Competant and reliable posted 30/05/2016

We received Philippe's quote very promptly and he started work on the date as discussed. I found him very helpful if I had any questions and the job was done to a high quality and on time. I would highly recommend Philippe and will be using him again.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Totally trustworthy, a joy to work with, talented, patient, detailed, accurate, clear and a "Forensic Plumber" posted 11/05/2016

We employed Philippe to service an old boiler on a house we'd just purchased, then after a big rebuild which ended in the builders going bust, Philippe finished off the outstanding jobs and tackled a snag-list for us. He's a true find as he seems to be able to tackle any job we needed: certification and testing of electrics, plumbing, heating, tiling, minor building works and investigation/fixing of a bunch of things that were not working properly or at all. He was tidy, considerate and always very clear with communications so we always knew what was happening. He's got a good sense of humour, so he's very easy to work with and to ask questions or advice. The shower in the tiny en-suite is a master-piece of detail and workmanship and he solved a leak in the family bathroom that no others had been able to for nearly a year! We are all fixed up now (and can now get our building regulations signed off), but wouldn't hesitate to employ him or recommend him.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Multi tradesman - Registered Plumber, Electrician, Central Heating installer posted 01/04/2016

Philippe is a friendly and organised professional AND local tradesman who gave us a quote in writing for the work we required. He was able to commence the work within two weeks and was very clear about what he would need to purchase and how much it would cost. There were no hidden fees! He changed sockets for us, put up a very heavy TV bracket and console shelving, took out our old shower cubicle and tray, removed all old grouting and replaced the old for new. We had to have parts of the shower re plumbed because the insufficient flow was beginning to cause a blockage, but this DIDNOT cost us lots of extra £££s. He arrived at 8am each morning to start work and finished at 5pm, nearly 6pm on the last day AND he cleaned up as he went along with an industrial vacuum cleaner. We will definitely contact him any time we need work done in the future including when we need to replace our boiler. Excellent Tradesman, Excellent Service, No negatives

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Great to have a plumber you can have confidence in! posted 01/04/2016

Philippe was extremely professional, punctual, and worked cleanly and efficiently. He gave us options regarding the most efficient and economical way forward. He didn't pressurise us to have a new boiler and gave us time to make our decision. His work has been of a high standard and finish. We would have no hesitation in using him for all our future plumbing and heating as we have total confidence in his skills and would highly recommend him to anyone.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Fantastic! posted 15/03/2016

Philippe is punctual, efficient and friendly. Would use again.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Excellent worker, great attention to detail, highly recommend posted 13/02/2016

Highly recommend, very tidy, good solutions to any hitches, we have used him several times and are extremely pleased with his work and price.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Boiler instalation posted 13/01/2016

The work was started and completed on time . Mr Couve was very professional and kept me informed at all stages of the installation. I thoroughly recommend his work

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Excellent tradesman, reliable, skilled, efficient and reasonably priced posted 28/12/2015

Can sincerely recommend Philippe for the above reasons

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

True Professional posted 06/11/2015

Phillipe was on time and fixed the problem in a professional and very timely manner. He was polite, friendly and provided a fantastic service at a great price. Thank you so much Phillipe.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Reliable, efficient, excellent tradesman posted 27/10/2015

I have used Philippe for more than 12 years. Firstly when our kitchen was being planned. Then he changed our heating system with boiler and radiators and subsequent servicing. Also he helped me renew my bathroom. Words to describe Philippe are polite, reliable, efficient, very trustworthy and honest. His work is always of a good standard and I would always recommend him to anyone. Many thanks for all the work you have done. Mike & Pauline

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

We would recommend Philippe Couve posted 21/10/2015

We have recently had a new central heating system installed, electrical installation updated and plumbing work carried out by Philippe Couve ltd. We found that the work was carried out to a high standard,the site left clean and tidy and we were kept fully informed of progress. Philippe was very helpful. We have no hesitation in recommending him and will use him again when the need arises.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Professional, tidy and competitively priced posted 24/09/2015

We researched Philipe on the internet and found other reviews giving great reviews. Based on those reviews we asked Philipe to quote and that was the start to great building experience. With Philipe what is on the can is inside. He is professional, tidy, diligent, keeps you in the loop and a good time keeper. No hesitation in recommending him.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

First class tradesman posted 20/08/2015

A very precise worker also very tidy. Would not hesitate to use again.

4/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 1

Trustworthy, tidy and thorough posted 13/08/2015

Philippe is a very considerate tradesman, removing shoes and laying dust sheets on his route through the house as well as using his industrial vacuum as he works. We have seen Philippe's electrical work as well as his plumbing and both are of a high standard and very tidy; it is always easy to see what has been done and what we need to do next (if anything). His attention to detail is obvious. Philippe's advice is clear during the quote phase but we consider that we are listened to, and we find no surprises on the day. Paperwork is understandable and itemised where relevant. We trust Philippe and have left him alone in the house (he has even taken in parcels for us!). We like Philippe and will certainly be using him for our next job.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Phillippe mended our boiler when others had failed! posted 09/08/2015

We had already had visits from several other plumbers who couldn't work out what was wrong with our 5 year old boiler. Phillippe ordered the right part and installed it the next day. Our outside tap is now perfect and our kitchen tap had a new cartridge installed instead of having to buy a whole new tap. We are delighted and wish we had found him years ago! He is very polite, honest and friendly.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

Professional and knowledgeable posted 08/08/2015

Had toilet cistern fault which he sorted out same day, and boiler fault for which he ordered a part, which was fitted the day after. So far everything running fine.

5/5

Time Management: 5

Friendly Rating: 5

Tidiness: 5

Value Rating: 5

View Contact Details

Philippe Couve Ltd Contact Details

Phone: 01803 665040

Mobile Phone: 07884457319

Website: philippecouve.co.uk

Address: 14 Lynmouth Avenue, Paignton, TQ4 7RQ